Lisboa

I may just be one of the luckiest girls in all of the world because on Friday morning of last week, my parents and both siblings were able to take off from their work and travel to Barcelona to visit me for 10 days.  I met them at the airport in Barcelona so that we could all travel to Lisbon, Portugal together.  We arrived in Lisbon late afternoon and after getting situated in our hotel, we walked around the city to get a feel of what it was like.  We walked to the pier and it reminded me a little of Barcelona because of the water and beautiful sandy beaches.

IMG_7741Saturday was a day full of activities.  My parents hired a driver to take us around to the smaller towns outside of the city.  The first place we visited was a city called Sintra.  There, we visited the Palace Pena.  It was a beautiful castle that was on the very top of a huge mountain.  There was so much fog in the air that it was almost impossible to see the full palace.  I truthfully thought the outside was even more impressive than the inside.  Because I have seen so many royal palaces from traveling, the inside seemed extremely outdated and did not have gold trimmings along the ceilings and walls like other places I have seen before.  However, the outside looked like it came from a fairy tale book.  This is definitely a place I would recommend for someone to visit if they were taking a trip to Lisbon.

After walking through the entire castle, we stopped in the town of Sintra to shop, walk around the narrow and beautiful cobble stone streets, and get a quick café.  Even though we made a quick stop,  it was still enjoyable to walk around and spend time with my family.

Our next activity was going to Cabo da Roca, which is the western most point facing America.  It was a really windy out by the water but it was still really beautiful to see the crashing waves and smell the fresh air.  Our tour guide told us a frightening story of two parents that got to close to the edge to find their child and fell off.  After that, my paranoid parents were in a hurry to get back in the car and hit the road again.

After working up an appetite from running around the city all day we went to a delicious, authentic fish restaurant in Cascais.  I was so pleased to have fish because I keep a kosher diet and while I have been abroad the only protein I am getting has been from cheese.  I got a scrumptious grilled salmon and enjoyed trying a place I have never been before.  After lunch we walked around the fishing village and my siblings and I walked down to the harbor to get some pictures and take in the scenery.

FullSizeRender-2

The rest of the afternoon consisted of going to the Tower of Belem, Vasco de Gama and Parque Eduardo VII.  All of which were more sites to see closer to where we were staying in the city opposed to the smaller towns outside of Lisbon.

Each site was nice to see but by the end of the day I was completely exhausted and needed a break.  Our driver took us to this fantastic famous bakery Pastéis de Belém to end such a beautiful day.

 

 

The line was all the way out the door and I could smell the baked goods all the way from across the sidewalk.  I tried a new dessert for the first time that were the famous custard pastries.  I made sure to shove a few down before my dad would convince me to give him the box!

48285866

Sunday was our last day and was more relaxing because we only had a brief amount of time before our flight to Barcelona.  After what seemed like a long journey home, my family and I arrived back in Spain where I welcomed them to what has been my home for the past two months.  They plan to stay here for the next week and hopefully on my breaks I can see them and have this last weekend to spend together in Barcelona!

Leave a Reply

